Nathan James Dearden selected International Young Composers Meeting 2017 / by Nathan James Dearden

Nathan James Dearden has been selected as one of sixteen young composers from across the world for the 23rd International Young Composers Meeting during February 2017 in Apeldoorn, The Netherlands.

In collaboration with the Gaudeamus Muziekweek, the International Young Composers Meeting is hosted by the innovative orchestra, orkest de ereprijs. orkest de ereprijs is the leading ensemble for new music in the eastern Netherlands. The group has made a name for itself both at home and abroad, initiating new projects, often in co-operation with other disciplines, on both a local and international level. The strength of the orchestra is its approach to new music, introducing audiences to high-quality contemporary music while preserving its accessibility to the general public.

Through a series of lectures, seminars, concerts and excursions, the selected composers will present their work in a final concert with orkest de ereprijs (directed by Wim Boerman). This year's meeting will be directed by esteemed composers such as Martijn Padding, Richard Ayres, Joe Cutler, Mayke Nas and Christopher Trapani.

With over 100 applications received by orkest de ereprijs, the fifteen composers selected are alongside Nathan are: Paul Zaba (UK), Ali Can Puskulcu (USA), Nina Fukuoka (Japan), Jjimena Maldonado Alvarez (Mexico), Elisabeth Angot (France), Piyawat Louilarpprasert (Thailand), Ryan Lindveit (USA), Ryan Probert (UK), Monika Szpyrka (Poland), Szymon Stanisław Strzelec (Poland), Aya Yoshida (Japan), Patrick Giguere (Canada), Blanka Stachelek (Poland), Harm Roche van Tiddens (South Africa) and Vasileios Filippou (Cyprus).

For more information about the International Young Composers Meeting, please CLICK HERE.